There once was a woman who woke up to find that she only had three strands of hair.

She said, “I think I’ll wear a braid.”

The next morning she woke up to find that she now only had two strands of hair.

So she said, “I think I’ll part my hair down the middle and wear it down.”

The following morning she woke up with one strand of hair.

She said, “Today, I’ll just wear a ponytail.”

Finally, she woke up and was bald.

She smiled and said, “You know what? I just won’t do my hair today.”


My mom told me this story many years ago, and I never forgot it. My journey has shown me to count my blessings, even if I have to get creative to find them. Sometimes things that may seem like a series of unfortunate events are really a long string of blessings.

I’ve found that many Christians, including myself, have become frustrated as we pray and see no results. If we are in pain, we pray for God to take it away. If we are broke, we pray for income. If we are depressed, we pray for happiness. What we forget is that our job is to bring our burdens to God by laying them down at the alter. We often forget that God is not our personal genie and our prayers are not wishes. God is all knowing, all powerful, and is truly omnipotent. We must learn to completely learn to lay our burdens down….all off them….including the solution. If we don’t, what’s the use of prayer?

If you are in pain, take pain pills. If you are broke, rob a bank. If you are depressed, drink liquor until you feel joy.

God is the only one who has access to the blueprint of your life, and knows the final result. Your job is to be lead by peace in your decisions, stay prayerful, and follow the path God has opened up for you. The moment you grab  machete and start chopping your own path down, is the moment you’ll get lost in the wilderness. You do not know more than God so stop trying to be a back seat driver. After all, how can you give directions if you have no idea where you’re going?

How can you say God hasn’t answered your prayers if you don’t know what the answer is? If you’re in pain, why wouldn’t God send a doctor to give a diagnosis and proper treatment. If you’re broke, why wouldn’t you expect God to ensure that all your bills are paid & all needs are met through sporadic income until the PERFECT job comes around for you. If you are depressed, why wouldn’t God further expose the root of the problem so you could fix the foundation of your life instead of giving you a quick fix through medication.

Look for blessings in places you wouldn’t expect to find them. Review certain situations and see how they connect with past events to form solutions. God is your leader. Learn to shut up and follow.

